skip to main content
Success for DTL trained apprentice at the IGEM Gas Awards 2018

Success for DTL trained apprentice at the IGEM Gas Awards 2018

17 May 2018

An SGN apprentice trained by Develop Training Limited (DTL) has scooped the first ever Apprentice of the Year title at the prestigious Gas Industry Awards.

John Brady, who trained from 2015 to 2017 on DTL’s First Call Operative apprenticeship programme, was praised by the judges for making “a significant contribution to his workplace and setting a fine example to future engineering apprentices.”

New category for 2018

The new category, one of three special awards, was introduced this year in recognition of the government’s Year of the Engineer campaign designed to inspire the next generation to pursue a career in engineering.

One of several DTL clients to collect an award

SGN were among a number of DTL clients who collected awards at the prestigious Hilton Hotel in Park Lane, London. DTL representatives and stakeholders joined leading figures from the UK gas industry at the event, organised by The Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM) and The Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA).

Award-winning and shortlisted DTL clients included Morrison Utility Services, Balfour Beatty and SGN.

DTL support success

Chris Wood, Chief Executive of DTL, said: “As a training organisation specialising in the utilities sector, we were delighted to support this event. It is fantastic to see our clients being recognised for their contribution to the sector, and particularly to see a new apprenticeship award going to a learner who has excelled on one of our programmes.”

This year’s Gas Industry Awards champions were presented with their certificates and trophies at an awards lunch hosted by Journalist and Broadcaster Jennie Bond.

Discover how DTL can support your business: view our full range of apprenticeships here

Full list of winners

The winning individuals and organisations were

  • Manager of the Year: Wez Little, Synthotech
  • Engineer of the Year: John White, Synthotech
  • Young Person’s Achievement Award: Andy Lewis, Cadent
  • Safety Award: Balfour Beatty
  • Energy Efficiency Award: Wales & West Utilities
  • Innovation Project Award: Taunton Deane Borough Council in partnership with Gas Tag for Technology
  • Customer Service Award: Hannah Moseley, British Gas
  • Innovation Product Award: ULC Robotics and tRIIO in partnership with Cadent
  • Leadership Award: Joanne Giles, Cadent
  • Company of the Year: Wales & West Utilities

The Special Recognition Award went to Adrian McConnell, of the Gas Safety Trust, and the Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to former IGEM President Chris Clarke, of Wales & West Utilities.

© Develop 2019